- CHFA DOH & HUD Funded, Adaptive Reuse, Historic Tax Credits
- 29,700 SF
- Completed - 2014
This three-story building and former home to a YMCA was originally constructed as two buildings, which were both completed in 1912. The buildings were joined in 1964, when the YMCA expanded into the adjacent Gem Theater, and their Main Street elevations were unified with a pierced concrete block facade. This project was a rehabilitation of the property as a non-traditional high school for at-risk and disadvantaged youths, providing supportive services and enabling students to obtain high school diplomas and vocational training.
The rehabilitation of the building included the removal of the 1964 CMU, and the restoration of the 1912 façade to its early twentieth-century appearance. The gymnasium was rehabilitated and re-purposed as a large learning center. The rest of the building contains classrooms, and administrative and support spaces. The school can accommodate about 200 students.